Enter your keywords:
State Kuala Lumpur

About Kuala Lumpur


From a small town Kuala Lumpur has grown to become the nation’s Capital City and the biggest city in Malaysia. Kuala Lumpur City has become the centre for many socio-economic various activities including business, finance, administration, education, religion, culture and sports.

Since 1961, Kuala Lumpur has been governed by one single corporate entity that was then known as the office of the Federal Capital Commissioner. On the 1st February 1972, Kuala Lumpur was officially conferred the status of a city. With this, the Federal Capital Commissioner became the Mayor of KL.
Kuala Lumpur 1926Kuala Lumpur Now

Tan Sri Dato’ Lokman Yusof the former Federal Capital Commissioner was elected as the first Mayor of Kuala Lumpur. When he passed away on 15.5.1972, he was succeeded by Tan Sri Yaakob Latiff who served for a period of 10 years. The third Mayor of KL was Tan Sri Dato’ Elyas Omar who took office on 1.2.1981.

The fourth Mayor was Dato’ Dr Mazlan Ahmad whose appointment was on 17.11.1992. Tan Sri Dato’ Kamarruzaman Shariff then took over as the fifth Mayor and served between 14.12.1995 and 13.12.2001. He was then replaced by Y Bhg Kol. Datuk Hj Mohmad Shaid b Mohd Taufek whose appointment was on 14.12.2001. Then from 14.12.2004 until 13.12.2006 the post of the seventh Mayor was held by Y Bhg Dato’ Hj Ruslin bin Hj Hasan. The office of the eight Mayor was held by Y Bhg Dato’ Ab Hakim bin Borhan.

The current and ninth Mayor of the city is Tan Sri Ahmad Fuad bin Ismail who has been in office since 14.12.2008.